Timeline: ZOSO 2 (Denham Town) – Jamaica’s Second Zone of Special Operations

On October 17, 2017, Denham Town was declared Jamaica’s second zone of special operations (#ZOSO) by Prime Minister Andrew Holness in a press conference at Jamaica House.  In continuation of our tracking of the operations as it unfolds, we’ve decided to do a second timeline, devoted to updates coming out of Denham Town over the operation’s 60 days.


See our explanation, in layman’s terms, of what SOZO is and the circumstances leading to its inception: What are ‘Zones of Special Operations’? In Laymen’s Terms (See also ZOSO Made Simple) and our timeline of the first ZOSO


Tuesday, September 17, 2017 – PM Holness announces Denham Town as second ZOSO

Prime Minister Andrew Holness announced that the second zone of special operations, made possible under recently enacted legislation, has been declared in Denham Town, west Kingston.


Wednesday, September 18, 2017

Reactions pour in, as well as clarifications, as persons respond to the second announcement with questions and concerns, and make comparisons with the first.


Thursday, September 19, 2017

Prime Minister Andrew Holness says he gives the Mount Salem zone of special operations a B-plus grade, even as Denham Town residents and business owners react to the first days of their own ZOSO.


Wednesday, October 18, 2017


Thursday, October 19, 2017


Sunday, October 22, 2017


Monday, October 23, 2017

The police seized three illegal firearms, an undisclosed quantity of ammunition, and two credit card scanning machines, among other things in operations near the second ZOSO, Denham Town.


Saturday, October 28, 2017


Sunday, October 29, 2017


Wednesday, November 1, 2017


Sunday, November 5, 2017


Tuesday, November 7, 2013

Security forces officially expanded the second zone of special operations (ZOSO) to include communities closely neighbouring Denham Town.


Monday, November 13, 2017

Shooters Hill residents begin to complain about different aspects of ZOSO.


Thursday, November 30, 2017

Prime Minister Andrew Holness has indicated that it is likely that the zone of special operation (ZOSO) in Denham Town, Kingston, will be extended.


Saturday, December 2, 2017


Wednesday, December 13, 2017


Sunday, December 17, 2017


Sunday, February 11, 2018


Wednesday, February 14, 2018


Saturday, February 24, 2018


Sunday, March 4, 2018


Monday, March 5, 2018


Thursday, March 15, 2018


Monday, March 19, 2018


Tuesday, March 20, 2018


Thursday, April 12, 2018


Sunday, April 22, 2018


Tuesday, April 24, 2018

Thursday, August 2, 2018