Timeline: The Heroes Circle Redevelopment Saga

In 2017, the Government of Jamaica announced that it had received an unsolicited proposal for a public-private partnership from China Construction Company, South America (CCASA) to develop a master plan that resulted in the signing of a memorandum of understanding with CCASA and the GOJ-Urban Development Corporation. The master plan, in its current form, would pave the way for construction of a new Parliament building, government ministries and a national museum. The proposal calls for the Parliament building to be sited in the centre of Heroes Park on an estimated 19.5 acres, with the museum taking up 4.2 acres. So in addition to the 15 acres already fenced off for the memorial sites, this plan effectively removes 40 acres of the 50-acre site.

Following the publicisation of the plan, and a letter expressing concern and displeasure with the plan and the way it was developed from prominent Jamaican architects and architectural groups, overwhelming responses to the redevelopment plan have been negative, and plenty of opposition has come from different segments of the island. See the timeline below.

Friday, March 10, 2017

March 29, 2018

Monday, April 30, 2018

A letter from the College of the Fellows of the Jamaica Institute of Architects expresses concerns that the master plan was to be developed and finalised by CCASA/UDC without the benefit of any public consultations; would require the demolition of the buildings that now house the ministries of finance, education, and labour and social security; and would have a devastating impact on the lives and livelihoods of residents of the area.

Wednesday, May 2, 2018

Friday, May 11, 2018

Wednesday, May 16, 2018

Friday, May 18, 2018

Sunday, May 20, 2018

Monday, May 21, 2018

‘As citizens required to foot the bill, we have a right to answers to the following questions: Why has there been no open competitive process to ensure least-cost and best benefits? Has there been sufficient consultation with stakeholders (especially communities impacted, development professionals, etc)? Doesn’t the exclusive partnership with CCASA render them unjustifiably advantaged? Hasn’t the MOU with CCASA not put other firms, whether local, regional or international, at a competitive disadvantage, especially if as the sole designated concept designer for the project CCASA later competes for the job as developer?’, asks columnist Jeanette Calder.

Friday, May 25, 2018

Saturday, May 26, 2018

Monday, May 28, 2018

June 22, 2018

Saturday, July 21, 2018

Sunday, July 22, 2018

Wednesday, July 25, 2018

Thursday, July 26, 2018

Monday, July 30, 2018