#JaVotes2016 – Know Your Constituencies: St Ann

St Ann South Western

Brown’s Town town centre

The constituency of St Ann South-Western was created in 1959 when 13 new constituencies were added by an advancement in the Constitution. It took the number of seats in the parish up to four.

St Ann South-Western is bounded by the following :the southern boundary of Richmond Pen on the St Ann-Trelawny parishboundary, then easterly along this parish boundary to the southern boundary of Industry Pen. It then goes along this boundary to the Gibraltar-Watt Town main road, easterly along this main road to its junction with the Brown’s Town-Alexandria main road, then easterly along the Brown’s Town-Alexandria main road to the southern boundary of Endeavour. From there, it goes easterly along this boundary to a bridle track, then southerly along this bridle track to a parochial road, along this parochial road and across Mason Ground to where it meets carriage road No 133, then southerly along this carriage road to the Heartease Road. It then goes along the Heartease road to Parochial Road No 133, then along this parochial road leading to Welcome, continuing along the parochial road to Parochial Road No 140.

From there, it goes easterly along parochial road No 140 to its junction with Parochial Road No 181, southerly along parochial road No 181 to the John’s Vale Forest Reserve boundary, then to the St Ann-Clarendon parish boundary and northerly along this parish boundary to the starting point.

During the period 1959 to 2011, there have been 12 contested parliamentary elections in the constituency. The seat is historically a Jamaica Labour Party (JLP) stronghold, as the People’s National Party (PNP) has only won the seat twice.

The first steward of the seat was Gideon W Aabuthnott-Gallimore, who won in 1959 and 1962 for the JLP while his son Neville Eden Gallimore won in 1967, 1972, 1976, 1980, 1989 and 1993 for the JLP. The PNP’s first win was courtesy of Glenville Shaw in 1997. Keith Walford won the seat 6,525 votes to 5,703 over two-term MP Ernest Smith. The closest margin of victory was recorded in the 1993 election, when Shaw missed unseating the younger Gallimore by a mere three votes.