#ElectionJa – Know Your Constituency: St Andrew East Central

The St Andrew East Central constituency was created in 1966 when the Constituencies (Boundaries) Order, under Section 67 of the Constitution of Jamaica, increased the number of constituencies in the parish from six to eight.

St Andrew East Central is a safe seat for the People’s National Party (PNP). From 1967 to 2011, there have been 10 contested parliamentary general elections in the constituency and the PNP candidate has never lost. The first Member of Parliament for the constituency was none other than party founder and president Norman Washington Manley. He defeated Stafford Owen 6,768 to votes in 1967, but died two years later. His successor Kenneth McNeill won the 1972 election 6,960 to 2,512 votes before passing the torch to DK Duncan in 1976 and 1980. The Jamaica Labour Party’s only hold on the seat came in the uncontested 1983 elections, when Leslie Lloyd won by default.

In 1994, Arthur Jones (PNP), who defeated Capt. Rupert Wilmot-Francis (JLP), by a massive 10,333 was forced to resign from Parliament due to ill-health. In a by-election boycotted by the JLP, Dr Peter Phillips, a former general secretary of the PNP, devastated the Republican Party candidate James Francis to become the MP. He has retained the seat since then.

Polling divisions in the constituency are Cassia Park, Hagley Park and Maxfield Park.


Be sure to check out our election hub  and follow the hashtag #ElectionJa on social media to stay up to date on all our election-related content and activities.