The website of the Office of the Prime Minister ( provides guidance on protocol.  

See here for Modes of Address specifically how to address:

See here to download the Order of Precendence listed below.

  1. Governor-General
  2. Prime Minister
  3. Deputy Prime Minister, Leader of the Opposition
  4. Members of the Cabinet, President of the Senate, Speaker of the House of Representatives
  5. Former Governors-General and Former Prime Ministers
  6. The Chief Justice, President of the Court of Appeal
  7. Ministers of State
  8. President of Jamaica Council of Churches
  9. Widows/Widowers of National Heroes, Widows/Widowers of Former Governors-Generals, Widows /Widowers of Former Heads of Government
  10. The Attorney-General
  11. The Cabinet Secretary (Head of the Civil Service)
  12. The Head of the Foreign Service, The Dean of the Diplomatic Corps, High Commissioners & Ambassadors, Head of Delegation of the European Union, Secretary-General of the International Seabed Authority
  13. Members of the Privy Council
  14. Deputy Speaker of the House of Representatives
  15. Members of the Senate, Members of the House of Representatives
  16. Judges of the Court of Appeal, Judges of the Supreme Court
  17. Chairman of the Public Service Commission
  18. Chief of Defence Staff, Commissioner of Police
  19. Mayors and Chairmen of Parish Councils except on municipal occasions, when they take precedence immediately after the Prime Minister
  20. Custodes of parishes except on formal occasions (other than municipal occasions) in their own parishes when they take precedence as representatives of The Governor General
  21. Chief of State Protocol, Resident Representative/Resident Coordinator of the United Nations Development Programme, Heads of Offices of International Organisations, Consuls-General, Members of the Consular Corps
  22. ​Vice Chancellor of the University of the West Indies
  23. Chairmen of political parties having representation in Parliament, General Secretaries of political parties having representation in Parliament
  24. Holders of Jamaican National Honours 
  • ​Order of Merit
  • Order of Jamaica