Academic Year 2019-2020 – Jamaica Calendar of School Terms and Holidays

Updated June 25, 2019

Please find below Jamaica’s Ministry of Education calendar of school terms and holidays for the academic year 2019 to 2020. Here you will find opening and closing dates for Jamaican schools, when examinations are taking place, and official dates for holidays.

The first/CHRISTMAS TERM of the school year will commence on Monday, September 2, 2019 and end on Tuesday December 17, 2019. The Christmas Holidays will be Wednesday December 18, 2019 to Friday January 3, 2020.  School will officially resume from Christmas Holidays on Monday January 6, 2020

The second/EASTER TERM of the school year will commence on Monday, January 6, 2020 and end on Wednesday, April 8, 2020.  Easter Holidays will be on Thursday April 9, 2020 to Friday April 17, 2020.  School will officially resume from Easter Holidays on Monday April 20, 2020

The third/SUMMER TERM of the school year will commence on Monday, April 20, 2020 and end on Friday, July 3, 2020.  Summer Holidays will be on Monday, July 6, 2020 to Friday September 4, 2020.

The 2020/2021 School Year begins Monday, September 7, 2020

[See next page for Holidays – cont’d]