Forestry Department

    Warning: include(/home/digjamaica/www/m/wp-content/plugins/digjamaica_ext/public/partials/digjamaica_ext-directory_dashboard-shortcode.php): failed to open stream: No such file or directory in /home/digjamaica/www/m/wp-content/plugins/digjamaica_ext/public/class-digjamaica_ext-public.php on line 195

    Warning: include(): Failed opening '/home/digjamaica/www/m/wp-content/plugins/digjamaica_ext/public/partials/digjamaica_ext-directory_dashboard-shortcode.php' for inclusion (include_path='.:/usr/local/share/pear:/home/digjamaica/www/m/wp-content/plugins/mailchimp-widget/lib') in /home/digjamaica/www/m/wp-content/plugins/digjamaica_ext/public/class-digjamaica_ext-public.php on line 195

    The Agency is the Government’s lead agency responsible for the management and conservation of the country’s forest resources. The functions of the Department are mandated under the Forest Act 1996 and are aimed at managing forests on a sustainable basis to maintain and increase the environmental services and economic benefits they provide.

    The administrative structure of the Department supports a determined drive towards greater efficiency, effectiveness, productivity and accountability. There are four (4) divisions: Field Operations, Legal and Enforcement, Corporate Services and Forest Science and Technology. The structure of the Department’s Forest Operations consists of two (2) zones; the Western Zone and Eastern Zone. Each zone is further divided into two (2) regions. The office of the Eastern Zone is housed at the Department’s Head Office, located in Kingston. The parishes served by the Eastern zone are Kingston, St. Andrew, St. Catherine, St. Thomas, St. Mary, Portland and Clarendon.
    The Western Zone has its office in Moneague and encompasses the parishes of St. Ann, Hanover, St. James, St. Elizabeth, Manchester, Westmoreland and Trelawny.