Address: 6 Winchester Road, P.O. Box 113 Kingston 10
Telephone: (876)-632-4275; (876) 618-1534
Fax: (876)-929-4736
Web Site:

The Bureau of Standards Jamaica is a statutory body established by The Standards Act of 1969 to promote and encourage standardization in relation to commodities, processes and practices. However, over the years, its role has expanded to include the provision of services in relation to conformity assessment (certification, inspection and testing, and calibration) and metrology. Its main activities include: facilitating the development of standards and other requirements to which particular commodities, services, practices and processes must comply; monitoring for compliance; conducting tests and calibrating instruments; certifying products and management systems; providing industrial training and promoting research and education in standardization.

The Bureau’s portfolio includes ensuring compliance with The Standards Act (1968), The Processed Food Act (1959) and the Weights and Measures Act (1976). Other aspects of our mandate are implemented under The Trade Act (1955), The Customs Act (1941), The Petroleum (Quality Control) Regulations (1990) and The CARICOM Regional Organization for Standards and Quality Act (2005). 
The Bureau operates as an agency under the Ministry of Industry, Investment and Commerce (MIIC) and is governed by a fourteen-member Standards Council. The Council is comprised of a Chairman, the Director of Standards (Executive Director) and twelve (12) stakeholder group representatives, appointed by the Minister Operationally, the Executive Director, along with a team of directors, manage the activities of the organization. 

Standards Council. The Bureau of Standards

Professor Winston Davidson - Chairman 

Ms. Andrene Collings - Vice Chairperson 
Mr. Noel DaCosta 
Ms. Daphne Harris-Omargeio 
Mr. Paul Ellis 
Mr. Richard Pandohie 
Mr. Leonard Greene 
Mr. Lawrence Henry
Mr. Obina Blake 
Mr. Silburne Clarke 
Ms. Lois Edwards-Bourne 
Ms. Aditha Miller
Ms. Sylvia Mitchell 
Mr. Noel Osbourne
*Appointed February 27, 2012 for a period of two (2) years to February 26, 2014
The Bureau of Gender Affairs
Government of Jamaica