Address: 10-11 Caledonia Avenue, Kingston 5
Telephone: (876) 754-7540 or 1-888-991-5005
Fax: (876) 754-7595-6
Web Site:

The National Environment and Planning Agency (NEPA) is an Executive Agency that became operational on April 1, 2001. It falls directly under the purview of the Office of the Prime Minister (OPM). NEPA represents a merger between the Natural Resources Conservation Authority (NRCA), the Town Planning Department (TPD) and the Land Development and Utilization Commission (LDUC) which was, originally, part of the Government of Jamaica’s Public Sector Modernization Programme (PSMP). The aim of which was to effectively integrate environmental, planning and sustainable development policies and programmes, as well as to improve customer service.

NEPA’s mission is to promote Sustainable Development by ensuring protection of the environment and orderly development in Jamaica

An Agency of the Ministry of Land, Environment and Climate Change

Chief Executive Officer or the Manager of Public Education and Corporate Communications
Monday - Friday 8:30 am - 4:30 pm

The Agency is also responsible for the management and protection of Jamaica’s biodiversity (microorganisms, plants, animals and their habitats). NEPA also processes and approves permits for the export and transit of hazardous wastes.   

In addition, NEPA prepares town and parish development plans, development orders, national environment planning and development strategies and action plans. It enforces planning approvals in areas covered by development orders. The Agency actively develops environment and land use database systems and extensively engages in continuous public education programmes and activities.

NRCA  - Natural Resources Conservation Authority Board

Mr. John Junor - Chairman;

Dr. Carol Archer
Miss Kari Douglas
Ms. Sophia Lowe
Mr. Clive Fletcher
Mr. Rivington Gardner
Ms. Rachael Allen
Reverend Dr. Arthur Reid
Ms. Rose Perrin-Greenwood
Ms. Elaine Cadogan
*Appointed March 12, 2012 for a period of two (2) years to March 11, 2014
TCPA - Town and Country Planning Authority Board
  • Mr. John Junor - Chairman

  • Dr. Carol Archer

  • Ms Kari Douglas

  • Mr. Christopher Powell

  • Ms Sophia Lowe

  • Mr. Clive Fletcher

  • Mr. Clive Fletcher

  • Ms Racheal Allen

  • Reverend Dr. Arthur Reid

  • Ms Elaine Cadagon

  • Ms Rose Perrin-Greenwood

National Environment And Planning Agency (NEPA)
Government of Jamaica